Flooded Gympie, Maryborough and Queensland

The rains poured down from Tweed Heads through to Maryborough.
I stayed overnight at Stotts Island, but fully expected the rains to continue, so packed up the wet van, and drove off at sunrise.
At Gympie, the Bruce Highway was blocked at Kybong, but when I went through at 7am, the waters were down but after the recent rain, they were rising. At Gympie, a detour took me across the river. The free camps were under water, and at Tiara, there were two caravans on high ground like an island, and the road was flooded. I had planed to stay there, but drove on.
I tried to go home via Hervey Bay route but Maryborough was blocked, so I returned via Bruce Highway and the Childers road, and the rain cleared before the Howard turnoff. I stopped at the truck park next to the Caltex, and opened up the van, had coffee and toast and waited until the canvas dried. I was lucky.

Now both towns are flooded…so I was lucky that I drove through so early in the morning.
It was sunny at Burrum Heads…

http://bigpondnews.com/articles/National/2011/01/09/Flash_flooding_warning_for_Qld_562283.html

Police Chief Superintendent Alistair Dawson said there had been overnight flash flooding near Gympie and Maryborough in the southeast and sudden inundations are expected elsewhere.

The Mary River at Gympie is still rising and threatens 20 businesses in the city.

At Maryborough the river is predicted to rise to 8.4 metres – under the predicted 9m – and has inundated three homes and three businesses.

Boat owners in the Mary River are being asked to check their vessels after problems at the local marina and other anchorages.

In Rockhampton, central Queensland, 138 people remain in evacuation centres.

‘Sadly, 400 homes still have water through the actual premises themselves,’ Supt Dawson said.

About 150 businesses are also affected, he said.

The Fitzroy River is holding steady and the Bruce Highway north is open.

