Murwillumbah NSW

My friends Family booked into a Farm Stay to do Whoofing at Murwillumbah.

Arrived here to be greeted with a demand for payment, so I am now in a powered campsite watching the boggy grass and wondering whether I will get bogged here.

 

The property was at Stokers Landing, a curvy drive inland into the forests and farms where lush green paddocks and old ancient mossy trees, reminiscent of  the Hobbits, hide farms and properties.

 

The drive is all forested roads, and you need to get Petrol on the Gold Coast, as after Tweed Heads the price of petrol rose again. I am on an almost empty tank until I leave here, and a bit nervous about not buying gas earlier on the road.

 

Stokers Landing is just properties and farms. There is a cave with glow-worms and bats at the Railway siding, but now unreachable because of the floods, and a Post Office which also has a few food items. I was stuck here with no food after delivering the Family to the farm stay, and staying overnight, which turned into two when the rains came. The Post Office sold me bread and Butter and she also gave me some cheese and ham which fed me two meals.

 

Reception is not good from here, so the mobile and Internet worked spasmodically, and keeps cutting out.

It is a beautiful area for quiet farm living, and rich in birdlife. I have seen fairy wrens, blue Fairy wrens, and some colorful tiny wrens…but not when I had the camera.

 

The free Wireless internet has made me very happy, and I have spent my time here mostly online.

 

